September 18, 2019

Man United win the Premiership and QPR get kicked out

Posted on April 29, 2013 by in Man United

Manchester United secured their 20th Premier League title Monday night after defeating Aston Villa 3-0 on the strength of a first-half hat trick by Robin van Persie. The victory gave the Red Devils a 16 point lead over Manchester City with four games remaining and thus clinching the title.

Manchester United signed a EPL club sponsorship deal with bwin last year and used some of that money over the summer to secure Van Persie, a deal that has proved to be the difference maker this season for the club.

Van Persie wasted little time reminding fans of his importance to the club this season as he first home a goal just 81 seconds into the contest. He then fired home goals at the 13th and 33rd minute to secure the hat trick. The first goal proved to be enough as the club ran a clean sheet against Aston Villa, a team struggling to remain in the premier league.

This game was a contrast in teams with differing goals. The Red Devils were looking to add another title to their long and storied history while Aston Villa is looking just to retain their spot in the Premier League. The club is just three points above Wigan with four games remaining.

Wigan, Queens Park Rangers, and Reading where slated for relegation after the season based on their position. Aston Villa is three point ahead of Wigan with four games left but is not the only club flirting with relegation. Sunderland, Stoke City, and Newcastle United are only 6 points above Wigan and must keep losses to a minimal to stave off relegation. QPR will be relegated this season but, Harry Rednapp has will stay with the club and help them retrieve their rightful position in the English Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>